A busy and relaxing Friday

It dawned on me this morning that this is my last weekend in Corvallis, OR. I can’t believe how fast time has gone by. I have made some amazing friends but am excited to be starting school at UC San Diego soon. My next few weeks are going to be chaos so please wish me luck to get through this as sanely as possible. In other news… it felt good to get back into the gym today, I’ve missed it. My knees have been a little wonky recently so I gave them a break today and focused on my upper body. When I don’t hit the weight room often enough I feel like I get all of this built up tension and energy inside of my and after my lifting session my mind is so much more at ease.

Today’s Workout:

Incline dumbbell bench press-chest
Overhead dumbbell press-shoulders
Standing dumbbell fly-shoulders
Bent over dumbbell fly-shoulders, upper back
Tricep kickbacks-triceps
One arm dumbbell rows-middle back
Tricep overhead press-triceps
Concentration curls-biceps
7×3 Reverse Barbell Curl-biceps, forearm. Do each 7 times: up to 90 degrees, down to 90 degrees, full range of motion
Barbell curls-biceps. 2 close grip, 2 wide grip
Back extension with weight-lower back
Oblique extension-obliques
30 minutes of elliptical

I also made some pumpkin bread today. I love making this pumpkin bread because it stays moist! I only ever buy the large cans of pumpkin puree so I ended up making a triple batch with eggs from the chickens since we are getting so many from them recently. And because I can’t consume all this food, I dropped the rest off at the local fire station.

Preheat oven to 350ºF (180ºC).

  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves

Combine the pumpkin, eggs, oil, and vanilla. Add the sugar and mix well.

Combine the flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, and spices. Add to the wet ingredients and mix just until combined.

Pour into the loaf pan and bake for about 45 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool before removing from pan.

This entry was published on June 2, 2017 at 9:10 pm. It’s filed under Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

